Rise_MartinSan Antonio  – Dr. Rise’ Martin has been awarded the 2012 Dentist of the Year Award by the Texas Academy of General Dentistry (TAGD). It is considered one of the most prestigious honors a Texas dentist can earn.

Dr. Martin was one of only fifteen dentists nominated for this year’s award. She and the other nominees were honored at a special night of celebration on Friday, September 14, at the 2012 Texas Dentist of the Year Gala during TAGD’s annual Lone Star Dental Conference in Austin which celebrates dentists throughout the state who exhibit a commitment to continuing dental education, service to the community and activism in the dental profession. Each nominee was recognized and received an engraved plaque. The Gala concluded with the announcement of the 2012 Texas Dentist of the Year and the presentation of the trophy to winner Dr. Rise’ Martin and a proclamation in her name signed by Governor Rick Perry. Dr. Martin was nominated by the San Antonio District Dental Society.

Dr. Martin is a graduate of the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She held the position of President of the Texas Section 7th International College of Dentists in 2010. She has organized the Great Expectations Mentoring Program at the UTHSC Dental School in San Antonio and matches each new freshman class of dental students each year with senior dental students, faculty members and local dentists who remain with the students throughout their four years of dental school, earning her a coveted Golden Apple Award from the American Dental Association presented to her in 2011 by Dr. Raymond Gist, ADA President. Dr. Martin was president of the San Antonio District Dental Society 2008-2009 and continues to provide leadership and mentorship. She is described by her peers as a passionate and outstanding dentist who has an admirable dedication to volunteerism. She actively participates in Dental Missions Trips, Smiles on Wheels, Texas Mission of Mercy – all in addition to maintaining her private practice in Lakehills, TX.

The Texas Academy of General Dentistry is the second largest dental organization in Texas. Its nearly 2,700 members are dedicated to continuing dental education in general practice. To earn a nomination by a local AGD component or local dental society, a dentist must demonstrate dedication to the profession, service to the community, dental school involvement, and a clear vision for the future of dentistry. The 2011 Texas Dentist of the Year award was claimed by San Antonio dentist Dr. Warren Branch also a San Antonio District Dental Society past president.